The Well: What’s Quenching Your Thirst

PhotoGrid_1466905647655Let’s talk about Faith, the thing God is pleased by…I will be lying if I say I have no worries and that I fully trust in God to provide for me all the time, but the truth is God is perfecting that area in me. As much as God shows His faithfulness to me on a daily basis, I struggle to trust Him still on a daily basis. I remember back in 2010 when I was in college and I wasn’t working nor did I have my own transportation, I felt like that was one of the toughest season of my life (If I only knew there will be harder and tougher days ahead, I just needed to keep living). During that season which was a year after my son’s father’s death, God had me in Matthew 6 studying His word on trusting Him and not worrying about food and money. I remember one day I was crying and worrying about something and I clearly heard the voice of God say, “Ye of little faith! Haven’t I provided for you before?” At that moment, I stopped crying and I said “yes Lord”. Let me testify!

Never have my son or I have gone without a meal. Only once have my ever lights been turned off during that season, but God was so faithful that my lights were turned on immediately after a couple of hours of being turned off. The word of God says, “Never have I seen the righteous forsaken nor his seed begging for bread, I can validate this! When the word of God tells me to trust in Him with all of my heart and not to lean on my own understanding or strength, acknowledge Him and He will direct my path, I can attest to this! And when the word of God says, “The Lord is my shepherd, THERE IS NOTHING I LACK!” I am a living witness! I don’t lack strength because God has it. I don’t lack finances, food, clothes, relationships, etc. because God shall supply ALL my needs according to His riches in glory. All I need is found in Christ and in Christ alone.

The woman at the well in John 4 had a physical need but was unaware of her spiritual need until she encountered The Living Well. Jesus knew the day and the hour when the Samarian woman was going to be at that well. I wouldn’t even be surprised if she was at the end of herself when she encountered Jesus Christ. He met her there faithfully, in the midst of her need. I wonder if she went to the well with guilt and shame on her conscious because of the sin she was in. See it was her physical need that brought her to that place to surrendering to God (He made her out of an evangelist) and showed her, her spiritual need. I can only imagine her journey with my own testimony of being the woman at the well. I was always running to things that only fixed me temporarily which resulted in me being left empty and dry. It’s only then and when I go to God, The Well that never runs dry is when I am satisfied and filled.

So if there is anything you are feeling you lack, draw closer to God to fill that void, to ease that anxious feeling. Psalm 23:1 says, “The Lord is your Shepherd, there is nothing you lack! Don’t allow your flesh to contradict the Word of God that says, “you lack nothing.” Whatever you are craving whether it is a spouse, or more money, or whatever, nothing will quench your thirst except Christ! Matter of fact, that longing you may feel may be God calling you closer to Himself, sometimes we just interpret our spiritual need with a physical need/want. I encourage whoever is reading this to rest in God and now He is a Good Father who loves you and will not withhold no goods things from you if you walk upright before him (Psalm 84:11).

Scriptures to meditate on:

  • Psalm 23
  • Proverbs 3:5,6
  • Psalm 37:25
  • 1 Peter 5:6,7
  • Matthew 6:30

 

Leave a Reply

